6 Months

Yesterday was a great day. I woke up in the morning beside the love of my life, we had coffee and breakfast together, then went to a new church, then took the furry friend out for a walk. The entire time, we were smiling and holding hands and enjoying each other and life. We then headed off to a theatre performance and had a wonderful time there as well followed by a casual but great dinner together a place we have never been before. It was a wonderful day and I happy beyond belief that she is in my life.

I never would have ever expected to be where I am right now 6 months ago. About 6 months ago she had found out about everything that I had done, all the bad things I was responsible for, and it broke her heart, because I didn’t tell her any of it. It was 6 months ago that my entire life fell apart and an entire community turned its back to me because my past actions were discovered. 6 months ago I lost everything I held dear in my life. 6 months ago I almost made the biggest mistake of my life. 6 Months ago, I dedicated myself to becoming a better person and began this journey.

It has been 6 months and I am happy and in control and for the first time, feel like I am actually living my own life.

There have been some missteps along the way, but there have been some great successes as well. I have learned a lot about myself, things I should have known and confronted years ago. I am genuinely happy, something I thought I knew before, but was mistaken.  I have been focused on making positive changes in my life and I see those changes now, especially when I look back at the person I was before.

I was irresponsible and it has made me prudent.

I was reckless and it has made me careful.

I was arrogant and it has made me humble,

I was isolated and it has made me open.

There are so many different changes that I have been making in my life. With my habits, my family, my spirituality, my focus, my relationships, my career, my desires, my actions, my plans. Everything has changed. All of it, for the better.

I am nowhere near the end of this journey, but looking back, I am proud of the progress I have made and am excited to continue to work on myself and see where this path takes me.  There will be bumps along the way, but it is part of it all and I must continue to learn from them and continue moving forward. Always moving forward.

Life moves too fast to be wasted. Every moment is a joy.

Leave a Reply

