Time To Start Living Better

When you are faced with a personal crisis, you tend to let a lot of things slide in your life while you focus your energies on fixing your situation. This could be any number of things, and although it can someone reduce the stress on your life while you deal with your personal tragedy, the longer you neglect these responsibilities, the worse off you will be in the long run and the harder it will be to go back.

For me, and I am sure for many, my health is usually the first to go. I have always had a tendency to sacrifice my health when times are tough or stressful. Giving up sleep, eating garbage, not exercising, drinking too much coffee and alcohol are all bad habits I increase when times are tough. Usually, its only short term, such as during an exam week or when a massive project needs to be done asap. But with my personal crises that I have been working through, I’ve been neglecting my health for several months now and I am starting to feel the effects. I feel sluggish, unfocused, coffee dependant, and exhausted most of the day. Given that everything in my life is starting to take an upswing, I can’t blame these feelings on the stress anymore, I don’t have much stress left.  This is because of long term neglect of my health and it needs to stop now.

Thankfully I am at a point where I can start refocusing my energy to taking better care of myself. I am going to get back into my old routine, including better eating, better sleeping, and of course, actually exercising.

In addition, I feel because I am “restarting” my health, this is a great time to take on a few more changes that I’ve wanted to make over the years. Things like drinking more water, drastically cutting back on my coffee intake, and making sure I spend less time in front of a screen and more time being active.

The Month of May is going to be my health month, where I can start building the good habits that I want to have in my life. I am not going to track anything, just have the goal of living better and see how I feel by June.

It is a great time of year, I recommend you try the same. Make small changes to improve your health this month. Even one small change, compounded over the month will put you in a better spot then you would be if you didn’t do anything at all.

Leave a Reply

