Getting My Financial S#!T Together

I’ve always been the kind of person that likes to build budgets. But I have had a big problem sticking to them and its done nothing but get me into sticky financial situations. I’ve always made a decent income, but I’ve been absolutely horrible in managing my expenses and always seem to spend more than I should on things like entertainment. I love the idea of saving and am a hoarder by nature and enjoy watching that dollar amount rise in my savings accounts, but I just couldn’t stick to it.

It is one of the reasons why I went through all of this crap in the first place. The need to cover my expenses was beyond what my income could provide, so I did what I could to get by. Just temporary fixes, with the looming realization coming at some point to bite me in the ass. Well everything did bite me in the ass and now I have nowhere to go but up. As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve paid off all of my immediate debts that were holding me back and now its time to make some real change.

Luckily, my debts were not substantial. It was more my actions that caused everything to fall apart. I don’t carry any credit card debt and aside from some small bills that I need to track down and cover, I am pretty much at ground zero. This is a great time to build a budget and actually stick to it.

For the entire month of April, I’ve been working with a budget and everything has been going well. It has been keeping me accountable and organized and ensuring everything I need to pay for is paid for. It is a great feeling to know that I am getting organized with my finances and I feel much less stress as a result.

Now the  hard part, is sticking to it. I feel like I can do it this time. I am no longer being irresponsible with my expenses and am “paying myself first” to ensure all of the important things are taken care of first before I go out and spend all my money.

It has only been a month, but this is really the longest I’ve ever stuck to a budget. I think it is safe to say that I have my financial shit together now and will cross this item off my list. Onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

