My Future As A Writer

The more I think about it, the more I want to change my direction in life and try to become a professional writer. I’ve been writing for years and feel like it might be my calling. Before you roll your eyes, please know that I’m not one of those bloggers that is just enjoying their writing experience so much that they think they can start making money off of it. This is not the case. I have been writing for years, and have a portfolio of published short stories, poems, and news paper and magazine articles. Like everyone, I have a novel that I have been working on for years, and I hope to finish this novel over the summer, but moving forward, I feel like writing really is the way to go for me and I am now thinking of which career path I might be able to take to allow me to continue writing for a living.

Unless I suddenly become a world famous novelist, journalism or PR seem to be the best options. I’ll certainly need to go back to school for either of them and that excites me. I am very heavily focused in marketing, and PR ties very nicely into that industry so I wouldn’t be starting from scratch in the industry.

I certainly have been enjoying this blog writing process. I’ve always had a blog, but I treated it as a news paper, as an opinion column where I would develop an argument on some topic and try to prove something then promote it so lots of people would read and comment on it. It was difficult to find topics sometimes, and easy to brush off the responsibility to myself to write consistently and I was starting to lose interest in the written word. With this Man 2.0 Project, I am finding that I am once again enjoying the writing process. Most likely  because I am writing from the heart, and not worrying about who will say what about my words. It is very liberating. I will certainly take this experience with Man 2.0 into future writing projects. I feel like my writing has gotten better as a result. I am getting exciting about finishing my novel this summer and already thinking ahead on other stories that I want to write.

Leave a Reply

